Star Trek: Into Darkness

star trek

Click to purchase on Amazon.

Going Into Darkness:

J.J. Abrams’s Star Trek: Into Darkness was the movie I decided to watch last night, and my expectations were “I’m going to have fun with this movie” and that’s about it. I was not expecting anything more than that. I have seen the first movie, and really enjoyed it, however I have not seen any of the original TV series, but from my understanding, J.J. Abrams’s Star Trek series takes place in an alternate universe, so nothing really matters as far as “continuity”.

Plot:

Captain Kirk and co. are sent to the planet of Kronos, the Klingon homeworld, after a Star Fleet building in London is bombed by Agent John Harrison. The Enterprise, outfitted with 72 prototype missiles, is ordered with taking out Harrison, which turns out to be a bit more complicated than that.

Review:

Into Darkness spends no time hopping back into things with the Enterprise as Captain James T. Kirk and Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy race through a bamboo field on a beautiful planet somewhere in outer space, which leads to them saving this planet from a volcano and exposing the primitive civilization inhabiting the planet to the Enterprise (a big no-no in the Prime Directive). I really love how quickly this movie jumps into the story line. Too often movies spend time in the beginning getting to know our characters again as if the were waiting for us for the last couple of years.

With an excellent start like that, I knew I was in for a treat. The movie in it’s entirety kept me occupied the entire time, whether I was worried for the main cast, laughing my ass off, or just cheering for the badass characters, I was entertained the entire time, and for a two hour movie, is saying something. The movie surprisingly had a lot of emotional depth, as well. Whereas the first one was more of a straight forward “action” movie with bits of emotional moments, Into Darkness really showed a lot of depth in the characters, which wasn’t seen in the original.

All in all, I have to say I loved the movie. If you have the money to spend on buying/renting it (it’s not on any streaming site that I know of, as of now) I would definitely take the two hours out of my day to watch this.

My Rating:

4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

